Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Learning and Development Roundtable: The surprising skill you didn’t know you needed when giving feedback

April 27, 2023 @ 5:00 pm - 6:30 pm UTC+3

Wishes 2023 feedback

What comes to mind when you hear the word ‘feedback?’ 

Whether we’re on the giving or receiving end of feedback, most of us get a pit of dread in our stomachs, with a million butterflies threatening to fly up our throats and suffocate us. 

Or maybe you’re saying to yourself that you don’t give feedback very often. I beg to differ. 

If you’re human, if you’re part of a team, you give feedback.   If you’re a colleague, partner, parent, and/or friend, you guessed it; you give feedback.

Feedback includes sharing your opinions, thoughts, comments, constructive (or not!) criticism, and/or input.

Knowing we’re about to receive feedback:

  • Activates our flight, flee or freeze response
  • Tends to trip our anxiety
  • Ignites top-of-the-mind reactions instead of thoughtful responses

And when it’s our turn to give feedback, research shows, we have a nasty habit of believing that we’re good at giving feedback and that our feedback makes a difference (insert self-congratulatory pat on the back here).

I’m about to pop that bubble.

Douglas Stone and Sheila Heen, in their excellent book “Thanks for the Feedback” say we have it all wrong.  We’re so used to focusing on giving feedback that we don’t understand the real key is learning how to receive feedback.

In my thirty-plus year career in Learning and Development I put their book among my top five learnings in my life. Seriously.  That’s how great this book and its valuable insights are. 

Thankfully, given how incredibly important both giving and receiving feedback is, there are some simple tips and techniques we can use to open up whole new worlds of being able to do both of those things (giving and receiving feedback) effectively.  I’ve designed a brand-new workshop to share them with you.

In this free workshop on April 27th, with me, Lee-Anne Ragan,  you’ll:

  • Uncover just how critical being able to receive feedback is and what a massive difference it can make to your life, your career, and more.
  • Learn a simple technique for giving more effective feedback.
  • Understand the surprising fallacies we tell ourselves about giving and receiving feedback and how to overcome them.
  • Practice some simple tips to help your nerves when they’re trying to get the best of you (aka, you’re about to give or receive some feedback).
  • Put the I in T.R.Y. by exploring the unique, unconscious filters you’re putting all the feedback you receive through, unbeknownst to you (til now!).
  • Explore some simple tips for amping up how you both give and receive feedback.
  • Count the workshop towards your annual UN-Mandated training (If you’re a UN staff).

RSVP using this link by April 25th. Then watch your inbox for our agenda and how to participate online.

Please note the dates and times alternate each month so as to reach more people in various time zones at their request.

  • 7 – 8:30 am, Vancouver
  • 9 – 10:30 am Mexico
  • 10 – 11:30 am Montreal, New York
  • 11 am – 12:30 pm Rio
  • 3 – 4:30 pm London
  • 4 – 5:30 pm Paris, Geneva
  • 5 – 6:30 pm Nairobi, Beirut, Amman, Mogadishu
  • 6 – 7:30 pm Abu Dhabi

Click here to convert to your timezone if it’s not listed above and to double-check the times, as they can sometimes change due to daylight savings times.  Use 5 – 6:30 pm EAT (Nairobi) to compare your timezone to.

If you’ve just realized with dread that the time is untenable for you this month, don’t worry; as long as you’re a Learning and Development Roundtable member (membership is free), you’ll get access to the audio and (timestamped) video recordings, workbook and more. 

Take action now –> 

  1. Join the mailing list to receive invitations to the monthly meetings and get access to all the meeting resources.  
  2. RSVP by April 25th. 
  3. Share this workshop information with a friend and/or colleague and participate together.  The more the merrier.
  4. Add the rest of the Learning and Development Roundtable 2023 dates to your calendar: 
    • May 25
    • June 15
    • September 21
    • October 26
    • November 16

Details

Date:
April 27, 2023
Time:
5:00 pm - 6:30 pm UTC+3
Event Category:
Event Tags:
, ,
Shopping cart0
There are no products in the cart!
Continue shopping
0